Your needs, this model
Does it fit your priorities?
Can I keep a phone and computer connected while using ANC?
Yes. The SBH2350 guide says Bluetooth multipoint can keep two devices connected and receive inputs alternately. That is source switching rather than a claim that two audio streams are mixed. Shure's up-to-20-hour launch figure is not specified as ANC-on runtime.
Explore this need in the finder →Can I use it with an analog cable, and will ANC or playback work with power off?
Shure documents a 3.5 mm analog input. The sources reviewed do not establish ANC over that cable, passive playback with power off, or the exact contents of a particular U.S. seller's package; verify the needed lead and operating behavior before relying on them.
Explore this need in the finder →Does the up-to-20-hour figure prove it meets a 20-hour ANC-on minimum?
No. The 2020 U.S. release gives up to 20 hours on one charge but does not state whether ANC was on. Because the ANC-on runtime is unknown, it cannot satisfy a hard minimum in the rated ANC-on finder, and the headline does not predict an older unit's remaining battery capacity.
Explore this need in the finder →The first-generation Shure AONIC 50 is an earlier over-ear ANC headphone with a useful, well-documented Bluetooth multipoint arrangement and a less settled wired story. Shure's U.S. launch announcement offered Black and Brown finishes in 2020; the model-specific guide identifies the headset as SBH2350. This Brown review is based on those manufacturer materials, not hands-on testing. A U.S. retail suffix and a current U.S. offer could not be established, so treat it as a model reference until a seller identifies the exact item.
What the first generation documents
Shure describes adjustable active noise cancellation, with a physical switch and Normal and Max ANC levels selected through the ShurePlus PLAY app. The app also provides Environment Mode and audio controls. These features establish that ANC exists; they do not quantify how much of a particular voice, engine or room will be reduced for an individual wearer. Comfort language in the launch materials is a manufacturer claim, not a fit assessment from this site.
The guide lists Bluetooth 5 and multipoint. Two devices can remain connected at the same time, with inputs received alternately. The PLAY app offers Static and Dynamic multipoint behavior, so switching and interruption rules matter if a phone and laptop share the connection. This is not evidence of two mixed audio streams. The maker's launch page lists aptX, aptX HD, aptX Low Latency, LDAC, AAC and SBC; which codec is used depends on the connected source and settings.
Do not turn the battery headline into an ANC rating
Shure's 2020 U.S. announcement says “up to 20 hours” per charge, but does not state the ANC setting, Bluetooth codec, volume or other conditions for that figure. It therefore cannot serve as a documented ANC-on runtime in a comparison that asks for a rated ANC-on minimum. The operating-time claim also says nothing about a used unit's remaining capacity. For an older offer, battery age, storage history and replacement or return terms matter more than the original headline.
This gap is meaningful beside the second generation. In 2023 Shure described the AONIC 50 Gen 2 as having improved hybrid ANC, spatial-audio modes and more than double the first generation's battery life, with a separate up-to-45-hour headline. Those claims make the generations distinct; they do not establish identical testing conditions or mean that every Gen 2 route has a 45-hour ANC-on rating. Compare the separate AONIC 50 Gen 2 Black review rather than treating an offer labelled simply “AONIC 50” as the same version.
Wired inputs are separate, with important unknowns
The launch page confirms a 3.5 mm analog input for wired sources. The guide also documents USB-C charging, digital audio and Hi-Res audio. The evidence reviewed here does not assign ANC to either wired route, and it does not establish passive listening after the headset is powered off or the battery is depleted. Do not transfer Bluetooth ANC behavior to an analog or USB-C plan. The guide's replaceable-cable references are not enough to confirm that a particular U.S. box includes every cable you need; check the seller's exact package before purchase.
At a stated 334 g, this is a substantial over-ear model, but weight alone cannot predict clamp, seal, heat or comfort over a long session. The Brown finish is supported by Shure's U.S. launch release and matching manufacturer image, while exact Brown U.S. item coding remains unresolved. Confirm that photos, model marking and included accessories match the listing, especially where a seller uses a generic AONIC 50 title.
Where this earlier reference fits
The strongest documented case for the original SBH2350 is Bluetooth ANC while keeping a phone and computer connected, with inputs handled alternately. Its analog input can be relevant for a wired source, but the unknown ANC and power-off behavior make it a poor evidence-backed match for someone who requires either capability. The broad 20-hour headline is not a substitute for a minimum ANC-on rating. The model may still be useful when comparing a specific Brown seller offer, but no current U.S. inventory or formal U.S. end-of-life status is claimed here.
Before considering an older unit, confirm the model generation and Brown finish, the exact retail or serial marking, seller condition, battery-return policy, the actual in-box cable and case, and available service or warranty terms. Shure's former U.S. product path now redirects to a manual; that alone is not proof of a particular seller's stock status. If an ANC-on runtime floor, confirmed cable ANC or power-off passive listening is essential, choose only a configuration whose sources document that same operating arrangement.
Sources: Shure's U.S. launch announcement, the SBH2350 user guide, and Shure's Gen 2 announcement.
Key specifications
Key details at a glance
| Fit | Over-ear / around-ear |
|---|---|
| Active noise cancellation | Yes |
| Headset weight | 334 g |
| Bluetooth version | 5 |
| Bluetooth audio codecs | aptX / aptX HD / aptX Low Latency / LDAC / AAC / SBC |
| Simultaneous Bluetooth devices | 2 |
| Analog audio input | 3.5 mm analog audio input; the exact u.s. seller package and cable contents are not established here. |
Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.
Sources for this review
Sources for this assessment
Check this model against your routine
Use the finder to test documented connection, ANC and battery requirements together. A match is not proof of personal comfort or measured quiet.
